Merino flocks vie for award

November 29, 2017

The 2018 McLennan - McColl Flock of the Year competition will be judged in the Bendigo, Ballarat and Serpentine regions in March.

The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria’s McLennan-McColl Flock of the Year competition, supported by Merino Victoria, will open to commercial Merino producers in the Bendigo, Ballarat and Serpentine regions for the 2018 event.

The competition is named in honour of two of the Merino industry’s most well-respected participants, wool producer Neil McLennan and wool classer Keith McColl.

It celebrates and assists with improving the quality of Victoria’s Merino ewe flocks and culminates in the presentation of a $1500 cash prize and plaque to the winner.

With a number of entries expected, particularly in the Serpentine and Bendigo areas, on-farm judging will be held over two days in March by judges John Crawford of Rock-Bank Merino Stud and Daniel Rogers of Mount Yulong Poll Merino Stud.

The Flock of the Year also offers entrants the opportunity to view other production systems and learn best practice management with competing properties open for official judging, as well as viewing by fellow producers, with RASV offering a free shuttle bus to properties.

â– Registrations for the 2018 competition are now open. To enter or for more information, visit or phone Grant Coverdale on 9281 7444.

More in Rural
Login Sign Up

Dummy text